Monday, November 10, 2014

Nominations Announced for the Moët British Independent Film Awards

By Sydney Levine | Sydneys Buzz
November 10, 2014 at 4:04PM

The nominations for the 17th annual Moët British Independent Film Awards were announced recently, at St Martins Lane, London by actor Jared Harris .

Joint Directors, The Moët British Independent Film Awards’ Johanna von Fischer & Tessa Collinson said: "This has been a record year for MBIFA with over 250 films submitted giving our dedicated members their toughest challenge to date. Hugely impressed by the quality of films and performances across all categories the shortlist demonstrates how the standard of creativity in British independent filmmaking continues to flourish year on year. The decision of who will walk away with one of the iconic MBIFA trophies* is now in the hands of our distinguished independent jury announced today. We are looking forward to seeing as many of the nominees as possible at the Awards on 7th December, to celebrate their incredible achievements. It will be a very personal celebration for us also, as the last in a wonderful 9 Award Ceremonies as Joint Directors of BIFA.”

The highest number of nominations this year goes to "‘71" with nine nominations including Best British Independent Film; Best Director and Debut Director for Yann Demange; Best Screenplay for Gregory Burke; Best Actor for Jack O’Connell and Best Supporting Actor for Sean Harris. "Pride" picked up seven nominations and "Catch me Daddy,""Frank," and "Mr Turner" picked up five nominations each.

Nominations for Best Actress go to Alicia Vikander for "Testament of Youth;" Cheng Pei Pei for "Lilting;" Gugu Mbatha-Raw for "Belle;" Keira Knightley for "The Imitation Game" and Sameena Jabeen Ahmed for "Catch Me Daddy." Leading men hoping to take home the Best Actor award include Asa Butterfield for"X+Y;" Benedict Cumberbatch for "The Imitation Game"; Brendan Gleeson for "Calvary"; Jack O’Connell for "’71" and Timothy Spall for "Mr Turner."

Best Supporting Actor nominations go to Andrew Scott and Ben Schnetzer, both for "Pride;" Michael Fassbender for "Frank;" Rafe Spall for "X+Y" and Sean Harris for"’71."

Dorothy Atkinson for "Mr Turner;" Imelda Staunton for "Pride;" Maggie Gyllenhaal for "Frank;" Sally Hawkins for "X+Y"and Sienna Guillory for "The Goob" are all nominated for the Best Supporting Actress Award.


No comments: